Aspen names new presidential fellows

The Aspen Institute’s College Excellence Program has announced the 2018-2019 class of the Aspen Presidential Fellowship for Community College Excellence, a leadership program aimed at preparing the next generation of community college presidents.

The select group of 40 fellows, who will participate in a 10-month program beginning in July, will work with mentors – current and former community college presidents – who have achieved exceptional outcomes for students throughout their careers.

Fellows will also learn from national experts about ways to harness data to assess student success outcomes, strategies for internal change leadership and how to create strong external partnerships with K-12 schools, four-year colleges and employers.

The 2018-2019 Aspen Presidential Fellows are:

  • Catharine Almquist, Trident Tech (South Carolina)
  • John Bonner, Everett Community College (Washington)
  • Amy Bosley, Valencia College (Florida)
  • Susan Burleson, Davidson County Community College (North Carolina)
  • Stephen Cain, Montgomery College (Maryland)
  • Tim Casper, Madison Area Technical College (Wisconsin)
  • Lisa Cooper Wilkins, San Joaquin Delta College (California)
  • Ryan Cornner, Los Angeles Community College District (California)
  • Sue Cui, Great Lakes Higher Education Guaranty Corporation (California)
  • Dolores Duran-Cerda, Pima Community College (Arizona)
  • Rebecca Estrada, Santa Fe Community College (New Mexico)
  • Virginia Fraire, Austin Community College (Texas)
  • Sean Hancock, Palo Verde College (California)
  • Mary Harris, Austin Community College District (Texas)
  • Eric Heiser, Salt Lake City Community College (Utah)
  • Shanna Jackson, Columbia State Community College (Tennessee)
  • Beatriz Joseph, Palo Alto College (Texas)
  • Ryan Kelsey, Achieving the Dream (New York)
  • Brian Knetl, William Rainey Harper College (Illinois)
  • Teresa Leyba Ruiz, Glendale Community College (Arizona)
  • Christine Mangino, Hostos Community College (New York)
  • Yash Morimoto, Santa Fe Community College (New Mexico)
  • Charles Morris, El Centro College (Texas)
  • Patrick Murphy, Arlington Public Schools (Virginia)
  • Dana Nichols, Chattanooga State Community College (Tennessee)
  • Catherine O’Brien, Houston Community College (Texas)
  • Monique Perry, York Technical College (South Carolina)
  • Landon Pirius, Colorado Community College System
  • Towuanna Porter Brannon, Mitchell Community College (North Carolina)
  • Avis Proctor, Broward Community College (Florida)
  • Kathryn Regjo, Colorado Mountain College
  • Michelle Saboo, Leech Lake Tribal College (Minnesota)
  • Marissa Schlesinger, Gutmann Community College (New York)
  • Michelé Smith, William Rainey Harper College (Iillinois)
  • Janet Spriggs, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College (North Carolina)
  • Lisa Stich, Iowa Lakes Community College
  • James Todd, Modesto Junior College (California)
  • Julie White, Onondaga Community College (New York)
  • Jermaine Williams, North Shore Community College (Massachusetts)
  • Rebecca Williamson, Green River College (Washington)

The Aspen Presidential Fellowship for Community College Excellence is supported by the Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation, College Futures Foundation, ECMC Foundation, Greater Texas Foundation, the Joyce Foundation, the Kresge Foundation, and The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

About the Author

Daily Staff
CCDaily is published by the American Association of Community Colleges.
The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.