Honoring distinguished faculty

The American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) congratulates the nearly 50 recipients of its inaugural Dale P. Parnell Distinguished Faculty designation.

Named in honor of former AACC President and CEO Dale P. Parnell, the association established the designation to recognize individuals making a difference in the classroom. Criteria for nominees include:

  • Demonstrating passion for the students and the classroom.
  • Showing a willingness to support students, inside and outside of the classroom.
  • Being inclined to participate in college committees.
  • Going above and beyond what is required to ensure that students are successful in their academic endeavors.

AACC will recognize the awardees — who will receive a custom commemorative medal — at a private reception with author Jeanette Walls (The Glass Castle) at the annual AACC convention in Dallas April 28 to May 1, and their names will be showcased on a new AACC Faculty Wall of Distinction during convention. Recipients also will receive a discounted registration for convention.

The inaugural 2018 Dale P. Parnell Distinguished Faculty include:

Dana Adams, instructor
George C. Wallace State Community College – Hanceville (Alabama)

Eileen Apperson-Williams, English Instructor
Reedley College (California)

Deborah Atkinson, program director (faculty)
Sinclair Community College (Ohio)

Luda Bard, professor
Howard Community College (Maryland)

David Barth, associate professor of electronics engineering technology
Edison State Community College (Ohio)

Hollie Benson, chairperson of the College Success Center and reading instructor
Muskegon Community College (Michigan)

Joan Bernard, faculty
Hennepin Technical College (Minnesota)

Dadbeh Bigonahy, professor of engineering and sciences/coordinator of the engineering program
Quinsigamond Community College (Massachusetts)

Lisa Black, faculty member
San Antonio College (Texas)

Robert Carlson, professor
Butler Community College (Kansas)

Malkiel Choseed, professor, English/reading/communication
Onondaga Community College (New York)

Alison Consol, professor and program director
Wake Technical Community College (North Carolina)

Maria Cruse, instructor
Chemeketa Community College (Oregon)

Rich Cuprak, faculty chair, engineering and applied technology (residential faculty)
Rio Salado College (Arizona)

Terry Davin, faculty member
Metropolitan Community College-Penn Valley Campus (Missouri)

Rand Ernst, instructor
Central Piedmont Community College (North Carolina)

Dan Fogell, instructor
Southeast Community College (Nebraska)

Edward Foley, professor
Cuyahoga Community College (Ohio)

Jerome Garrison, music faculty
South Mountain Community College (Arizona)

Shirley Gharbin, associate professor II, nursing
Cecil College (Maryland)

Jennifer Harrison, assistant professor of social sciences
Warren County Community College (New Jersey)

Nora Hatem, associate professor
Clark State Community College (Ohio)

Wade Hilker, agriculture instructor
Central Community College (Nebraska)

Pete Hoffman, agriculture instructor
Southwest Wisconsin Technical College

Christopher Jones, professor
Harford Community College (Maryland)

Carol Kuper, mathematics faculty
Morgan Community College (Colorado)

Evelyn Lannak, assistant professor
Monroe Community College (New York)

Diane Mauldin, senior associate professor
Bellevue College (Washington)

Steve McGrady, department chair, science faculty
Vance-Granville Community College (North Carolina)

Angie Medina, associate professor
Trinidad State Junior College (Colorado)

Dawn Munson, professor II of education
Elgin Community College (Illinois)

Mary Murphy, cosmetology instructor
Bladen Community College (North Carolina)

Thomas Penird, professional faculty, industrial technology
Washtenaw Community College (Michigan)

Rita Perry, dental assisting program director (residential faculty)
Phoenix College (Arizona)

Sonia Pruneda-Hernandez, associate professor
Montgomery College (Maryland)

Craig Rosen, professor of theater and academic theater program coordinator
Moraine Valley Community College (Illinois)

Ethel Russell, professor
Atlantic Cape Community College (New Jersey)

Mollye Russell, instructor, speech communication
Baton Rouge Community College (Louisiana)

Shannon Ruth, residential math faculty
GateWay Community College (Arizona)

Beth Sammons, instructor, literature and composition
Mt. Hood Community College (Oregon)

David Saunders, welding program coordinator/instructor
Lakeshore Technical College (Wisconsin)

Linda Seppa Salisbury, communication studies faculty
Spokane Community College (Washington)

Scottie Smith, assistant professor, welding technology
Northwest Florida State College

Bruce Smock, assistant professor, speech
Arkansas State University-Newport

Crystal Starkey, associate professor and honors program director
Delta College (Michigan)

Paula Swan, library technician instructor
Spokane Falls Community College (Washington)

Diego Tibaquira, associate professor, senior
Miami Dade College (Florida)

Claudia Turner, professor of nursing
Temple College (Texas)

Amy Waddell, professor of natural sciences
Southwest Tennessee Community College

Thomas Ziesemer, associate professor, criminal justice
College of Central Florida

About the Author

Daily Staff
CCDaily is published by the American Association of Community Colleges.
The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.