(From left) FHSU Alumni Association Board of Director President Betty Johnson; Tulsa Community College President Leigh Goodson; and FHSU President Tisa Mason. (Photo: Fort Hays State University)


Leigh Goodson, president of Tulsa Community College (TCC) in Oklahoma, recently received the Fort Hays Alumni Achievement Award as part of the 2019 Homecoming weekend at her alma mater. She was one of four to receive the Fort Hays State University Alumni Association’s highest honor for outstanding and unselfish contributions in service to community, state or nation as citizens in chosen career fields or through philanthropic work.

“As president of TCC, I use Fort Hays State as an example on a regular basis as we are talking strategy and systems that support students to and through college and onto a family sustaining wage,” Goodson said.


Thomas Bullock is now dean of adult education at Savannah Technical College in Georgia. He previously taught math at several universities, including Georgetown University, where he also served as assistant to the president, and as founder and director of the Institute of College Preparation.

Kevin Chandler is now vice president for college advancement and community relations at Macomb Community College in Michigan. He has been with Macomb since 2014, previously serving as dean of university relations and as associate dean of arts and sciences.

Cynthia Sims has been named associate vice president of academic partnerships and learning resources at College of DuPage in Illinois. She previously was associate dean for academics and student affairs at Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, where she worked for 14 years.

About the Author

Matthew Dembicki
is editor of Community College Daily and serves as publications director for the American Association of Community Colleges.