David Beyer

Timothy Nelson

Mary Thornley

Several presidents have received regional honors for the 2019 Chief Executive Officer Award from the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT). Timothy Nelson, president of Northwestern Michigan College, received the honor for the Central Region; Mary Thornley, president of Trident Technical College (South Carolina), for the South region; and David Beyer, the recently retired president of Everett Community College (Washington), for the Pacific region. Honorees are recognized not only for the impact at their community colleges, but also for their commitments to postsecondary education locally, regionally and nationally. ACCT win announce the national winner from among five regional award winners at its annual meeting in October.


Colette Catania will serve as vice president of institutional effectiveness, research, planning and assessment at Volunteer State Community College in Tennessee. She comes from Southwest Tennessee Community College where she held a similar position.

Mavis Clemons is the new human services program coordinator at Hazard Community and Technical College in Kentucky. She previously was the work and learn coordinator in the Ready to Work Program at the college.

Shareka Fortier-Edwards has begun her role as the first executive director for equity, diversity and inclusion at Clover Park Technical College in Washington. She previously worked at MultiCare Health System, where she led the system’s cultural competency in equity and diversity efforts.

About the Author

Matthew Dembicki
Matthew Dembicki edits Community College Daily and serves as associate vice president of communications for the American Association of Community Colleges.
The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.