CEOs on the move

Paul Broadie II will become the fifth president of Santa Fe College in Florida, effective January 2020. He is currently president at both Gateway Community College (GCC) and Housatonic Community College (HCC) in Connecticut. He was initially appointed president of HCC in Bridgeport in 2014, and in 2017 the Connecticut Board of Regents for Higher Education expanded his duties when they appointed him president of GCC in New Haven. Broadie previously served as vice president of student services and associate vice president of extension centers at Orange County Community College in New York. He was also director of the Ossining Extension Center at Westchester Community College (New York).

Anne M. Kress will become the next president of Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA), beginning in early 2020. Kress is currently president of Monroe Community College (MCC) in Rochester, New York, and has 30 years of community college experience. She also serves on the board of directors of the American Association of Community Colleges. Kress began her career in 1989 at Santa Fe Community College (Florida) as an adjunct instructor of English and moved up the ranks: associate professor, department chair, Title III project director, associate vice president, provost and vice president for academic affairs. She became MCC president in 2009. NOVA has about 75,000 students across six campuses in Alexandria, Loudoun, Manassas, Woodbridge, Springfield and Annandale.

Martha Ann Todd, who has been serving as interim president at Columbus Technical College (Georgia) since July, is now its permanent president. She previously was deputy commissioner for adult and technical education at the Technical College System of Georgia. From 2013 through 2017, Todd was executive director of the Governor’s Office of Student Achievement. Todd was also assistant superintendent for Meriwether County Schools and associate superintendent of teacher and leader effectiveness at the Georgia Department of Education.


Adam Hutchison will serve as the next president of Virginia Highlands Community College at the start of 2020. He is currently provost of Texas State Technical College (TSTC) in Waco. Hutchison has nearly 20 years of higher education experience and has spent most of his early career at TSTC in Harlingen, where he was an aviation maintenance technology senior instructor and department chair; associate vice president of its Corporate College; the college’s chief of staff; and its provost and vice president for student learning. He then transferred to the TSTC System Office to become associate vice chancellor for student learning. In 2016, he returned to TSTC Waco to be the college’s provost.

CEO retirement

Bill Ingram, president of Durham Technical Community College in North Carolina since 2008, has announced that he plans to retire at the end of his contract next summer. He has served at the college in various capacities since 1983.

Under Ingram’s leadership, Durham Tech has grown to include new campus locations, additional buildings on its main campus, and new programs to offer more opportunities for students to earn livable wages and achieve upward economic mobility. A few months into his presidency, the college expanded its reach outside Durham County to open the Orange County Campus in Hillsborough. Earlier this month, the college broke ground on the college’s first academic building since 2008.

Ingram has held several leadership roles at Durham Tech, including director of continuing education, director of off-campus programs and the Weekend College, and dean of technical and vocational programs. Before serving as president, Ingram was senior vice president and chief instructional officer for 13 years.

Ingram’s accolades include receiving the I.E. Ready Distinguished Graduate Award in 2016 from North Carolina State University and the Leo Lambert Award in 2017 from the North Carolina Campus Compact, an organization of which he has also served on the executive board.

Ingram’s involvement in the community includes participating on several boards, including the Greater Durham Chamber of Commerce, Chapel Hill-Carrboro Chamber of Commerce, Discover Durham and Made in Durham. He also is a peer evaluator and former trustee for the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges and has co-authored a book on community colleges.


Alex Johnson, president of Cuyahoga Community College (Ohio), is being honored by the Diversity Center of Northeast Ohio for his work building a community where all people are connected, respected and valued. The organization recently selected Johnson for a 2019 Humanitarian Award. The distinction is given to individuals who greatly contribute to the improvement of human relations among diverse groups in Northeast Ohio.

Robin Myers, chancellor of Arkansas State University-Mountain Home, has been named Pacesetter of the Year by the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations (NCMPR) for District 4, which includes Arkansas, Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Colorado and Wyoming. The award recognizes a community college president or CEO who has demonstrated special leadership and support in college communications and marketing. It is awarded annually in each of NCMPR’s seven districts, who are nominees for the national award that will be given this spring.

About the Author

Matthew Dembicki
is editor of Community College Daily and serves as publications director for the American Association of Community Colleges.