Galen DeHay will serve as the next president of Tri-County Technical College (South Carolina), as of July 1. He is currently senior vice president at the college, a position he’s held for four years. DeHay previously served as interim provost and vice president for academic affairs, and assistant vice president for instruction and institutional effectiveness. A former biology faculty member and science department head at Tri-County, DeHay has more than 11 years of teaching experience.

Under DeHay’s direction, the college has developed manufacturing and health care pathways (I-BEST programs) for high school and non-traditional student populations. He also led the team in creating the Michelin Manufacturing Scholars program in collaboration with Michelin North America. The program won the 2018 Innovation Program award from the Community Colleges of the Appalachia.

CEO on the move

Larissa Littleton-Steib will become the new chancellor of Delgado Community College in Louisiana, effective July 1. She has served as chancellor of Baton Rouge Community College (Louisiana) since 2016. During her tenure there, Littleton-Steib has led efforts that have increased student enrollment, improved the college’s fiscal health and stability, and increased business and industry partnerships. Prior to that, Littleton-Steib was vice chancellor of workforce development, dean of technical education and other roles at Delgado.

CEO retirement

Katharine Winograd, who has served as president of Central New Mexico Community College (CNM) for 12 years, has announced her plans to retire. She will continue until a new president has been hired or until her contract expires on June 30, 2020. Winograd has spearheaded a variety of innovative efforts focused on increasing the number of students reaching graduation at CNM. In 2013, CNM earned the Award of Excellence in the category of student success from the American Association of Community Colleges, and President Winograd was named Western Region CEO of the Year by the Association of Community College Trustees.

In 2014, led by Winograd’s leadership, CNM launched the 501(c)3 enterprise arm of the college, CNM Ingenuity. One of the first programs launched under CNM Ingenuity was deep-dive coding, which immediately turned into a successful 10-week coding boot camp designed to address a key workforce need in central New Mexico.

In her first year as president, Winograd led a partnership with the University of New Mexico, which committed both institutions to a develop a more seamless process for students to transfer between the two institutions. She also led efforts to strengthen partnerships with Albuquerque Public Schools and Rio Rancho Public Schools, especially in regards to dual-credit classes for high school students.

“I can’t say enough about her prolific contributions to our central New Mexico community and the high level of integrity she has demonstrated throughout her presidency,” said CNM Board Chair Pauline Garcia.


Beverly Walker-Griffea, president of Mott Community College (Michigan), has received the Mildred Bulpitt Woman of the Year Award from the American Association of Women in Community Colleges. The honor is given to women who have shown outstanding leadership and mentorship to provide opportunities for women in community colleges.

Glen Gabert, president emeritus of Hudson County Community College in New Jersey, has received the 2019 Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award by the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society. Gabert was one of seven former college presidents honored with the award this year. The award is presented to retiring two-year college presidents who during their careers provided consistently outstanding support to PTK chapters and their advisors.

Mike Muñoz, vice president of student support services at Long Beach City College (LBCC) in California, has been named the 2019 Outstanding Faculty Member by the University of Southern California’s (USC) Rossier Student Organization. In addition to serving at LBCC, Muñoz also is an adjunct professor of higher education at USC’s Rossier School of Education.


Kyle Barron has been named assistant vice president for student services at Volunteer State Community College in Tennessee. He comes most recently from Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College (Kentucky) where he was director of student life and engagement.

Prashant Shinde will serve as chief information officer at Oakton Community College (Illinois), effective May 6. Shinde is currently chief information officer at Chicago State University.

Marvin Thompson is now chief of staff at Motlow State Community College in Tennessee. Previously, he was a consultant to the Delaware Department of Education, developing statewide needs assessment and school improvement policies and procedures to meet federal requirements in addressing the needs of all students.

About the Author

Matthew Dembicki
Matthew Dembicki edits Community College Daily and serves as associate vice president of communications for the American Association of Community Colleges.
The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.