Interim CEOs

Joseph Cassidy, current president of Washington County Community College (WCCC), will serve a three-year term as president of Southern Maine Community College. Susan Mingo, dean of enrollment management and student services at WCCC, will become president of WCCC, also for a three-year term. Both begin their new jobs August 1. Cassidy has served WCCC for the past 14 years, as an instructor, president of the WCCC Faculty Association, and, since 2013, as the college’s president. In 2015-16, he simultaneously served as interim president of Eastern Maine Community College. Mingo joined the administration of WCCC in 2005. For nearly seven years she has served as dean of enrollment management and student services.


At Waubonsee Community College in Illinois, Dan Larsen has been appointed executive director of campus safety and operations, and Eamon Newman has been promoted to assistant dean for online learning and flexible delivery. Newman’s post, a new position at the college, focuses on faculty development, specifically related to online course design and effective teaching practices in various web-enhanced, flexible delivery methods. He joined the college in 2017 as a technology trainer. Larsen has served as director of campus operations since 2014, and previously was the college’s buildings and grounds manager from 2011 to 2014.


Joshua Villalobos, dean of the Mission del Paso Campus at El Paso Community College (Texas), and Dan Dimitriu, engineering program coordinator at San Antonio College (Texas), represented community colleges among the 27 individuals that the White House has named recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring. The award recognizes outstanding efforts of mentors in encouraging the next generation of innovators and developing a science and engineering workforce that reflects the diverse talent of America. They will receive their presidential certificates at a recognition ceremony in Washington, D.C., this week.

About the Author

Daily Staff
CCDaily is published by the American Association of Community Colleges.