(From top left) Laura L. Douglas, Larissa Littleton-Steib, Bryan Reece, James Vander Hooven and Kevin S. Boys


Laura L. Douglas has been appointed the next president of Bristol Community College in Massachusetts, pending approval from the state board of higher education and contract agreement. She is currently provost at Des Moines Area Community College in Iowa, a position she has held since 2005. Previously, Douglas was vice president for instructional and student services at Randolph Community College in North Carolina.

Larissa Littleton-Steib will serve as chancellor of Baton Rouge Community College in Louisiana, effective Jan. 2. She is currently vice chancellor for workforce development and technical education at Delgado Community College. Littleton-Steib has served at the college for nearly 17 years, has more than 20 years of education experience and a background in program development, grant writing and workforce development and training.

Bryan Reece will serve as the next president of Norco College in California, effective Jan. 3. Reece has more than 26 years of community college experience with teaching expertise and a range of administrative involvement. He comes from Crafton Hills College where he was vice president of instruction. Previously, Reece held two dean positions, served as the academic senate president and taught political science at Cerritos College.

James Vander Hooven has been appointed the next president of Mount Wachusett Community College in Massachusetts, pending approval from the state board of higher education and contract agreement. He is currently vice president for enrollment management at Landmark College in Vermont. Previously, Vander Hooven was president of Tohono O’odham Community College, a tribal college in Arizona. In previous roles, he served as vice president of student affairs and enrollment management at Lakes Region Community College in New Hampshire and regional dean of academic and student affairs at National American University in Colorado.


Kevin S. Boys, president of Southern State Community College (SSCC) in Ohio, was recently honored with an Outstanding Leadership Award from the Ohio Educational Service Center Association. The award recognizes community leaders who have personally rendered specific leadership service which has significantly benefited all the local school districts in the county school system. Boys has devoted more than 31 years to K-12 public education in southwest Ohio, including his service as a teacher, principal and superintendent in two suburban school districts near Cincinnati. Boys is the fifth president of SSCC and is now serving his seventh year.


Sheryll Wood, an experienced educator who has spent nearly 30 years teaching at the college level, has been named dean of arts and sciences at Edgecombe Community College. She Wood joined the North Carolina college in 2013 as chair of the department of English/humanities.

About the Author

Daily Staff
CCDaily is published by the American Association of Community Colleges.