CEOs on the move

Regina Stanback Stroud has been selected as the next chancellor of Peralta Community College District (California), with contract negotiations pending. Stanback Stroud has more than 35 years of experience as an educator and leader, having served most recently as president of Skyline College (California) from 2010 to 2019. Upon her retirement in July 2019, she was named president emerita. Serving more than 35 years as an educator, Stanback Stroud began as a professor of nursing at Rancho Santiago College (now Santa Ana College). She later became dean of workforce and economic development at Mission College and vice president of instruction at Skyline College, before being appointed president.

New CEOs

Stacy Atkinson is now chancellor for the Richmond campus and Connersville site of Ivy Tech Community College in Indiana. She has served in an interim role since July, as well as vice chancellor for academic affairs for the Richmond campus. Atkinson started at Ivy Tech in 2015 and has taken on various roles at the college, including early childhood adjunct instructor, senior instructional designer with the Center for Instructional Technology and executive director of strategic initiatives.

Linda Braddy will serve as the next president of Brookhaven College in Dallas, Texas, effective November 4. She is currently vice president for academic affairs at Tarrant County College in Texas. Braddy joined the Tarrant County College District in 2009 and served in several roles, including academic support services. She also is the former deputy executive director of the Mathematical Association of America in Washington, D.C.


Bill Pink, president of Grand Rapids Community College in Michigan, has received the National Council for Marketing & Public Relations’ (NCMPR) 2019 Pacesetter of the Year award for District 3. The award recognizes a community college president or CEO who has demonstrated special leadership and support in college communications and marketing. It is awarded annually in each of NCMPR’s seven districts, who are nominees for the national award that will be given this spring.


Bill Hébert, Jr., has been selected as vice president of student affairs for North Shore Community College in Massachusetts. His previous leadership positions include: senior vice president for educational services for the Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities; creator and director of the Office of Central Advising at University of Wisconsin (UW)-Milwaukee and campus dean for student affairs and enrollment management at UW-Marathon County.

Caroline Chretien-Shook is the new executive director of classified human resources at Long Beach City College in California. She was in an interim position since July 2018. Since 2015, Chretien-Shook has served in various human resources roles at the college.

Mary Ellen Naylor is now dean of health sciences for Cape Fear Community College (CFCC) in North Carolina. Naylor has been with CFCC since 2003. She began as a dental hygiene instructor and moved up to program director and department chair for allied health.

Adrienne Y. Smith will serve as interim dean of science, technology, engineering and math at Holyoke Community College in Massachusetts. Smith has 13 years of community college experience, most recently as dean of engineering, technologies and mathematics at Springfield Technical Community College in Massachusetts.


About the Author

Matthew Dembicki
is editor of Community College Daily and serves as publications director for the American Association of Community Colleges.