New CEOs

Jan Yoshiwara will serve as executive director of the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges, effective next month. She currently is deputy executive director for education at the state board, where she started in 1984 as assistant director of student services and minority affairs. Yoshiwara moved up in the organization to become director of education services in 1994. Today, she leads system-wide programs and policies that prepare students for college-level work, for a career or to transfer to a university.


College of DuPage President Ann Rondeau recently received the 2017 Outstanding College Alumni Award for the College of Education from the Northern Illinois University (NIU) Alumni Association. Recipients are selected based on their outstanding professional accomplishments and civic, cultural and charitable involvement. Rondeau earned her Ed.D in adult and higher education at NIU in 2010. She retired from the U.S. Navy as a three-star admiral in 2012 and is the second woman to achieve this rank.


Anne Howsare Boyens is now provost at Des Moines Area Community College in Iowa. She previously was associate provost for academic services at the college’s Urban Campus, where she served for 14 years.

About the Author

Daily Staff
CCDaily is published by the American Association of Community Colleges.