New CEOs

Carrie Brimhall will serve as president of Minnesota State Community and Technical College (M State), effective July 1. Since 2014, she has served at the college as chief academic officer and vice president of academic affairs. A first-generation student and graduate of M State, Brimhall has been with the college for nearly 20 years in various positions, including: director of housing, admissions, recruitment and retention from 1998 to 2008; dean of enrollment from 2008 to 2011; interim provost from 2011 to 2012; and associate vice president of academic and student affairs from 2012 to 2014.

Tim Cook has been named president of Clackamas Community College in Oregon, effective July 1. He currently is vice president of instruction at Clark College (Washington), where he started his career in 1997 as a faculty counselor and taught there for 14 years before becoming vice president. In total, Cook — who himself attended a community college — has spent 21 years at the college and has been an active member of the community.

Craig Johnson will serve as president of Ridgewater College in Minnesota, as of July 1. Since 2014, he has served as executive director of the University Center-South Dakota Public Universities & Research Center. Previously, Johnson was director of the branch campus of Winona State University in Rochester from 2007 to 2014. He also served as the administrator of the West Bend campus of Moraine Park Technical College (Wisconsin) from 2000 to 2007, and as the academic resources coordinator/visual resources curator for the College of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (now College of Design) for the University of Minnesota.

James Morton will serve as president of Cape Fear Community College in North Carolina. He has served as interim president since January. Morton joined the college in 2015 as vice president of business and financial services, and later served as executive vice president. Previously, Morton was finance director for the Wilmington International Airport in North Carolina for almost 15 years.

Interim CEOs

Michael Berndt will serve as interim president of Dakota County Technical College and Inver Hills Community College in Minnesota, as of July 1. He is currently vice president of academic affairs at Century College, a role he has held since 2014. Previously, Berndt served Normandale Community College as the administrator overseeing research, planning, accreditation and online learning from 2008 to 2014.


Kara Monroe has been named provost/senior vice president at Ivy Tech Community College in Indiana, effective July 1. Since 2015, Monroe has served as vice president, academic innovation and support for the statewide community college system.

About the Author

Daily Staff
CCDaily is published by the American Association of Community Colleges.