ccDaily > Bumphus appointed to new U.S. Homeland Security council

Bumphus appointed to new U.S. Homeland Security council

Wa​lter Bumphus

​Walter Bumphus, president and CEO of the American Association of Community Colleges, will serve on a new advisory council created by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to bring an academic voice to national security efforts.

U.S. Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano on Thursday announced the formation of the Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council (HSAAC), which includes prominent higher education CEOs and academic leaders who will advise the secretary on key issues.

“The formation of this council represents an important milestone toward engaging the academic community in our homeland security efforts,” Napolitano said in a statement. “Their collective expertise will be a critical asset to the department.”

Bumphus will bring to the council the voice of the nation’s more than 1,100 community colleges, which play a critical role in training students for careers in homeland security.

“Community colleges educate more than 80 percent of credentialed first responders for the nation, so the importance of their role in keeping communities secure cannot be overstated,” Bumphus said. “I am honored to represent these outstanding institutions on the new Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council, and I look forward to working with Secretary Napolitano and other distinguished members of the council to support this important work.”

The council includes other community college leaders, including Rufus Glasper, chancellor of Maricopa Community Colleges in Arizona, and Gail Mellow, president of LaGuardia Community College in New York.

Napolitano has asked the group to provide recommendations on issues related to:

  • student and recent graduate recruitment
  • international students
  • academic research
  • campus and community
  • resiliency, security and preparedness
  • faculty exchanges

The council will have its first meeting on March 20 in Washington, D.C.

Other members of HSAAC include:

  • Joseph Aoun, president of Northeastern University (Massachusetts)
  • Carrie Billy, president of the American Indian Higher Education Consortium
  • David Dooley, president of the University of Rhode Island
  • Royce Engstrom, president of the University of Montana
  • Antonio Flores, president and CEO of the Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities
  • Jay Gogue, president of Auburn University (Alabama)
  • Marlene Johnson, executive director and CEO of the Association of International Educators (NAFSA)
  • Eric Kaler, president of the University of Minnesota
  • R. Bowen Loftin, president of Texas A&M University
  • Wallace Loh*, president of the University of Maryland (*council chair)
  • Ruby Moy, president and CEO of the Asian Pacific Islander American Association of Colleges and Universities
  • Hunter Rawlings, III, president of the Association of American Universities
  • John Sexton, president of New York University
  • Rear Admiral Sandra Stosz, superintendent of the U.S. Coast Guard Academy (Connecticut)
  • Dianne Boardley Suber, president of St. Augustine’s College (North Carolina)
  • Holden Thorp, chancellor of the University of North Carolina