ccDaily > Newsmakers


(From top left) Kathryn Eggleston, Charles Earl, Pamila Fisher, Jonathan Gueverra, Janet Gullickson, Sylvia Jenkins, Alex Johnson, Martha Smith, Jill Stearns and Anthony Tricoli.

New CEOs

Kathryn Eggleston has been named president of Richland College (Texas) after serving as interim president since January 2010. She has held various executive leadership roles at the college since 1998. Eggleston also currently serves on the American Association of Community Colleges’ (AACC) commission on communications and marketing.

Pamila Fisher is now interim chancellor at City College of San Francisco in California. She served as chancellor from 1992-2004 at the Yosemite Community College District, where she started her career as an instructor in 1974. Fisher has held multiple higher education leadership positions on a national level, including serving on commissions and the board of directors of AACC.

Jonathan Gueverra has been named the sixth president of the 46-year-old Florida Keys Community College. He currently serves as CEO of the Community College of the District of Columbia. Previously, Gueverra was provost at Northern Virginia Community College’s Alexandria Campus. He also serves on several boards, including AACC's board of directors.

Janet Gullickson has been named president of Spokane Falls Community College (Washington). She joined the Community College of Spokane system in 2010 as interim district academic services officer. Previously, Gullickson was with the Colorado Department of Higher Education. From 2004-05, she served as president of Front Range Community College in Colorado and from 2002-04 as provost and executive vice president of Northwest Minnesota Collaborative, which includes several community colleges in the state.

Sylvia Jenkins will serve as president of Moraine Valley Community College (Illinois), effective July 1. She previously served as vice president of academic affairs at the college. Jenkins’ career began at MVCC in 1986 as an adjunct librarian. In 2001, she was named assistant dean of the college’s Center for Teaching and Learning and its library director. In 2003, she was appointed dean of academic development and learning resources.

Jill Stearns will serve as president of Modesto Junior College in California, effective July 1. She is currently vice president of educational services and chief instructional officer at West Hills College (California). Stearns previously was interim associate dean of student learning and district director of financial aid at the college. Prior to her roles in the community college system, Stearns served in the private sector for nearly 15 years.


Charles Earl, executive director of the Washington State Board of Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC), announced his plans to retire in July. Under his leadership over the last six years, the system has been recognized for several programs that have helped to increase the number of students who finished their college degrees, particularly I-BEST (Integrated Basic Education Skills Training), which has been cited several times by President Barack Obama regarding innovations in community colleges. Previously, Earl was president of Everett Community College, where he served for seven years. Before that, he worked as a deputy to then-King County Executive Gary Locke and as general manager of the Snohomish Public Utility District.


Alex Johnson, president of Community College of Allegheny County in Pennsylvania, has been nominated for this year’s Living Legend Champion of Inclusion Award. The honor is part of Pittsburgh Mayor Luke Ravenstahl’s DiverseCity 365 initiative, recognizing champions of equality, inclusion and diversity.

Nancy McCallin, president of the Colorado Community College System, has been awarded the Distinguished State Community College Director Award by the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. She was recognized for her support and leadership to gain funds for students scholarships and for her dedication to student success.

Martha Smith, president of Anne Arundel Community College in Maryland, was named one of the Influential Marylanders of 2012 recently by the Maryland Daily Record. Smith, who has led AACC for almost 18 years, was recognized for her influence in education. Locally, she works with government, education and business partners to develop programs and opportunities for students at her college and with fellow community college presidents through the Maryland Association of Community Colleges.

Anthony Tricoli, president of Georgia Perimeter College, has received the 2012 Pacesetter Award from the National Academic Advising Association for his support of advising and counseling at his college. The award recognizes executive officers who exemplify a commitment to academic advising and are strong advocates for advising, students and advisors across the institution.

Christina Royal, associate vice president of e-learning and innovation at Cuyahoga Community College in Ohio, has received the 2012 U.S. Distance Learning Association International Distance Learning Award for Outstanding Leadership. The award recognizes leaders committed to growing and sustaining distance learning, and those who promote the development and delivery of distance learning programs.


Mary Lane is now director of libraries at Guilford Technical Community College (North Carolina). She is formerly the library manager for Lorillard Tobacco Co. in Greensboro and has served as library director at higher education institutions in Massachusetts and North Carolina.

Jason Morgan is now dean of financial and administrative services at Wallace State Community College in Hanceville (Alabama). He previously served as director of financial services since 2011. Morgan was hired as college’s operations accountant in 2004.

Russ Rothamer is now vice president of academic affairs at Coconino Community College (Arizona). Previously, Rothamer was dean of business, community services and international programs at Northcentral Technical College in Wisconsin. From 1999-2006, he held education leadership positions at Walt Disney World Resorts.

Harinder “Hari” Singh has been named dean of academic pathways at Berkeley City College (California). Previously, he was director of assessment at Seidman College of Business at Grand Valley State University (Michigan), and also served as editor of the Seidman Business Review. During his academic career, he was chair of the economics department at Seidman and was an economics professor in San Diego State University. 

Quintin Taylor is the new executive director of media relations at the Louisiana Community and Technical College System. Previously, Taylor was the communications coordinator for Memphis City Schools in Tennessee. He has also served as a media relations specialist for the Miami-Dade County Public Schools in Florida.