ccDaily > Newsmakers


(From top left) Gina Cortés-Suaréz, Curtis Ivery, Peggy Kennedy, Félix Matos Rodríguez and William Serrata

New CEOs

Peggy Kennedy is now president of Minnesota State Community and Technical College. She has served as interim president of the college since July 2011. Previously, Kennedy was vice president of academic affairs and student development at Saint Paul College (Minnesota) since 1994. She had also served as dean for business and general education programs at the college.

William Serrata will serve as president at El Paso Community College in Texas, effective Aug. 1. He is currently vice president for student affairs and enrollment management at South Texas College (STC), a post he has held since 2007. Previously, he served as STC’s director of enrollment services and registrar, dean of enrollment services and registrar, and interim chief student services officer.


Gina Cortés-Suaréz, president of the InterAmerican Campus of Miami Dade College in Florida, was recently recognized by City of Miami Commissioner and MDC alumnus Frank Carollo for being named a woman of distinction by the Miami Commission on the Status of Women. The organization annually honors local women who have made major contributions worldwide and to the local community, and whose great works are deserving of recognition.

Curtis Ivery, chancellor of the Wayne County Community College District (WCCCD) in Michigan, has been named a 2012 Closing the Gap honoree by New Detroit, a nonprofit coalition comprising leaders from civil rights and advocacy organizations, human services, health and community organizations, business, labor, foundations, education and the news media. WCCCD serves more than 70,000 students in a 550-square-mile area.

Félix Matos Rodríguez, president of Hostos Community College (New York), will serve as grand marshal of the annual National Puerto Rican Day Parade June 10 in New York City. Rodriguez grew up in Puerto Rico, where he served as secretary of the family, a cabinet-level post. At the City University of New York, he served as director of the Centro de Estudios Puertorriqueños/Center for Puerto Rican Studies at Hunter College. Matos Rodriguez was named HCC president in 2009.

Dave Anderson, dean of the Center for Professional and Workforce Development at Inver Hills Community College (Minnesota), is the recipient of the Minnesota Council for Continuing Education and Customized Training Lifetime Achievement Award. The continuing education and customized training department has transformed under his leadership from a community education model to take on its current workforce-oriented mission.

Margaret Bovill-Hawkins, director of the student success program at Bunker Hill Community College (BHCC) in Massachusetts, has been chosen as a 2012 recipient of the Manuel Carballo Governor’s Award for Excellence in Public Service. The annual award recognizes 10 state employees or groups of employees who exemplify the highest standards of public service. Criteria for selection include exceptional accomplishments, leadership, creativity and innovation.

Kasey McKee, associate vice president for foundation and alumni relations at St. Charles Community College (Missouri), received the 2012 Athena Emerging Young Professionals Award, which recognizes individuals who have attained excellence in their fields of endeavor, have helped others reach their fullest potential and who have given generously to their community in a meaningful way. McKee was noted for her work leading the college’s foundation, which raises funds for scholarships and academic programs.

William (Bill) Mulrooney, director of admissions and records at El Camino College (California), was recently honored with the Robert Brown Distinguished Service Award by California Association of Community College Registrars and Admissions Officers. The award recognizes a commitment to leadership, innovation and professional standards by members who work to further the profession of admissions and records in the state’s community colleges. At El Camino, Mulrooney led the implementation of CCCApply, eTranCa, web registration, online transcript requests and a new degree audit process.


Catherine Brod is the new vice president of development and executive director of the College of DuPage Foundation in Illinois. A lifelong philanthropist, Brod has worked in education for 25 years, most recently for 15 years as the executive director of the Harper College Educational Foundation and chief advancement officer at Harper.

William “Bill” Fiege is now vice president of academic affairs at John Tyler Community College (Virginia). He brings with him more than 15 years of higher education experience. Before coming to John Tyler, Fiege was an academic dean at Germanna Community College (Virginia), taught speech communication at the college and held numerous positions at Longwood University.

Charles Johnson has been appointed provost and vice president of instructional services/dean of faculty at Vincennes University (Indiana), which awards associate and bachelor’s degrees and certificates. He previously served as director of three specialty master’s degree programs at Purdue University, West Lafayette. Since 2007, Johnson has also served as a consultant to the American University of the Middle East, Kuwait.

Rosie Rimando-Chareunsap has been selected as the new vice president for student services at South Seattle Community College (SSCC) in Washington. She has served the college since 2000, most recently as associate dean for student achievement and vital student services activity director for the Title III grant program. Prior to SSCC, Rimando-Chareunsap taught ninth-grade language arts and world history in the Seattle public schools system.

Jason Watts has been named chief academic officer (CAO) at Snead State Community College (Alabama). Watts, who has served in an interim role as the college's top academic officer, joined SSCC as an adjunct math instructor in 2000. Other posts he has held at the college include director of institutional research and associate dean of academic planning and research.

At Pima Community College in Arizona, Jerome Migler has been selected to serve as provost and executive vice chancellor; Darla Zirbes was named vice president of instruction at the Community Campus; John Carroll has returned as vice president to the Downtown Campus; Terra Benson was named director of admissions and registration; and Donna Gifford has assumed the additional duties of vice president of instruction for the Northwest Campus. Migler currently serves as the executive vice president and provost of Minnesota State Community and Technical College. He also has served as vice president of college outreach and dean of technologies and services at North Dakota State College of Sciences. Benson is a former assistant director of financial aid who has been with the college since 2005. She has served as acting director of admissions and registration since last fall. Gifford is currently vice president of online development at the Community Campus. Zirbes has served as vice president of instruction for the Northwest Campus. Carroll has serve as acting vice president of instruction at Community Campus.


Marilyn Behringer, vice president of Reedley College in California, will retire June 30 after serving in higher education for 38 years. Behringer came to the college in January 2010, after serving as dean of instruction in the business division at Fresno City College (FCC) in California. Prior to that, she held the positions of interim vice president of student services, instructor of computer information systems, coordinator of student success and department chair at FCC. She also served at California State University Fresno for 11 years.