ccDaily > Newsmakers


(From top left) ​Daryl Campbell, Greg Gillespie, Steven Gonzales, Lee Lambert, Lisa Larson, Kirk Nooks, Valerie Roberson, Kevin Walthers and Marie Foster Gnage.

​New CEOs

Daryl Campbell will serve as acting president of Shoreline Community College (Washington), effective June 10. Campbell is currently vice president for administrative services at the college. Prior to coming to Shoreline in 2008, he held administrative positions at Goddard College (Vermont), including vice president for finance and administration.

Greg Gillespie will serve as president of Ventura College in California, effective July 1. Currently, he is vice president for instruction and student services at Yavapai College (Arizona). With more than 19 years of experience in the community college system, Gillespie has served as a faculty member, director, dean and vice president at four different community colleges, ranging from rural to urban with direct experience in instruction, administrative services and student services.

Steven Gonzales will serve as president of GateWay Community College (Arizona), effective July 1. He has more than 15 years of instructional and administrative experience in higher education, including his current role as the highest-level academic officer for the Pinal County Community College District.

Lee Lambert was named chancellor at Pima Community College (Arizona), effective July 1. Currently, he is president of Shoreline Community College (Washington), where he has served since 2006. Previously, Lambert was Shoreline’s vice president for human resources and legal affairs. He also serves on the board of directors of the American Association of Community Colleges.

Lisa Larson is now acting president of North Hennepin Community College (Minnesota). Previously, she served at Hennepin Technical College (HTC) as vice president for academic and student affairs. In addition, Larson was dean of business and industry at Lake Superior College (2004-07); dean of construction, manufacturing and transportation at HTC (2000-04); and general education coordinator at Dakota County Technical College (1999-2000).

Kirk Nooks is the new president of the Longview campus of Metropolitan Community College (Missouri), effective July 1. Currently, he serves at Georgia Highlands College, where he is both campus dean for the college’s Marietta campus and executive liaison for diversity initiatives. Previously, Nooks served in various leadership roles at Northern Virginia Community College, including dean of student services and assistant professor, and at Prince George’s Community College (Maryland), as director of the office of institutional initiatives and governance.

Valerie Roberson will serve as president of Roxbury Community College (Massachusetts), effective July 22. She currently is vice president of academic affairs at Joliet Junior College in Illinois. Previously, Roberson served for five years as president of Olive-Harvey College of the City Colleges of Chicago.

Kevin Walthers has been named superintendent/president of Allan Hancock College (California), effective July 8. He is currently president of Las Positas College (California). Previously, Walthers served in executive roles with the Utah State Board of Regents, the College of Eastern Utah and most recently held a joint position with the West Virginia Community and Technical College System and the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission. As the vice chancellor for administration in West Virginia, Walthers provided oversight of WVNET, the state’s central network service and Internet provider for colleges and universities.


Marie Foster Gnage, president of West Virginia University at Parkersburg, has been named State Citizen of the Year by the West Virginia Elks Association. Gnage, who serves as chair of the American Association of Community Colleges board of directors, was recognized for her personal interest and involvement in the revitalization of downtown Parkersburg and leadership in the expansion of the academic curriculum offered at WVU Parkersburg, among other community activities.


Barbara Wurtzel was recently appointed to dean of library services at Springfield Technical Community College (STCC) in Massachusetts. She has served as interim dean since August 2012. Wurtzel began her career at the college in 1980 as a reference librarian and later served as the coordinator of reference and instruction. Later, she was co-director of the STCC library from 2009–2010.

New trustee

Tom Looney has been appointed to serve on the Wake Technical Community College (North Carolina) board of trustees. Looney is vice president and general manager for Lenovo North America. He is also a trustee for the North Carolina School of Science and Math and chair of Transit for the Regional Transportation Alliance.