ccDaily > Flathead Valley's Karas named AACC chair-elect

Flathead Valley's Karas named AACC chair-elect


(From left) Marie Foster Gnage, Jane Karas and Myrtle E. B. Dorsey

Jane Karas, president of Flathead Valley Community College (FVCC) in Montana, was elected to serve as chair-elect of the American Association of Community Colleges’ (AACC) board of directors, beginning July 1.

Marie Foster Gnage, president of West Virginia University at Parkersburg (WVU Parkersburg), will become chair July 1, succeeding Myrtle E. B. Dorsey, chancellor of St. Louis Community College in Missouri. 

Gnage became president of WVU Parkersburg in 2004. She was a regional vice president for West Virginia University prior to her current position. Gnage has also served as: senior vice president for academic affairs at Raritan Valley Community College in New Jersey; assistant vice chancellor for educational services at Pima Community College in Arizona; and vice president for instruction at Central Florida Community College.

Currently, Gnage serves on the AACC board of directors’ Executive Committee, and on the Committee on Public Policy & Government Relations. She is active with numerous local, regional and national and civic organizations. 

Karas has served as president of FVCC since 2001. She was elected to the AACC board for 2010-2013, and currently serves on its Executive Committee and chairs the Committee of Program Initiatives and Workforce Training. She is also the board liaison for the Community Colleges for International Development. 

Karas has served as president of Mountain States Association of Community Colleges and as vice chair of the National Campus Compact Board. She is also active in professional organizations locally, regionally and nationally.

Previously, Karas was vice president and dean of instruction and student services at FVCC. In addition, she also served as director for workforce development in the Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education. 

New college representatives to the AACC board, who were elected at the association’s annual convention last month, include:

The new council representatives are Charlene Dukes, president of Prince George's Community College (Maryland), and Lee Lambert, president of Shoreline Community College (Washington).

Eugene Giovannini, president of Gateway Community College (Arizona), is the new institutional at-large representative, and Ricardo “Rick Torres, Jr., CEO and president of the National Student Clearinghouse, is the public at-large representative.