ccDaily > AACC announces short list for its Awards of Excellence

AACC announces short list for its Awards of Excellence

​Image: iStockphoto

The American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) is putting the extraordinary — often visionary — work of two-year colleges in the national spotlight with its second annual Awards of Excellence.

Twenty-four community colleges have been named finalists in the program designed to recognize innovation and promising practices among two-year colleges.

The awards program is tied to the key recommendations of AACC’s 21st-Century Commission on the Future of Community Colleges, a national, blue-ribbon group of education experts. The Awards of Excellence finalists have put those recommendations into action and have made differences in the lives of the students on campus and the members of their community.

“These finalists are taking risks and forging the path to re-imagining our institutions,” said AACC President and CEO Walter  Bumphus. “Through the Awards of Excellence, we’re able to hold up their bold innovations as models that will benefit all community colleges.”

CC Daily will profile each finalist beginning next month.

Awards will be given in six categories: emerging leadership, student success, faculty innovation (new this year), exemplary CEO/board, advancing diversity and outstanding college/corporate partnership. The winner in each category will be announced April 7 during the Awards of Excellence Gala Dinner at the AACC Annual Convention in Washington, D.C.

The 2014 AACC Awards of Excellence finalists are:

Emerging Leadership

Student Success

Faculty Innovation

Outstanding College/Corporate Partnership

Advancing Diversity

Exemplary CEO/Board