Frederick Keating, president of Rowan College at Gloucester County (New Jersey), is among this year’s recipients of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society’s Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction. The honor is presented each year to college presidents who have advocated for student success through recognizing academic achievement, leadership and service among high-achieving students at their colleges. Recipients are nominated by the students of their institution.

“Student success is the driving force behind every decision made at this institution,” Keating said. “Every new academic program we launch, every building we erect, every partnership we enter into is an investment in our students, intended to prepare them to prosper within their chosen field and to make an impact on the world around them.”

Carol Spalding, president of Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, has been named the 2019 President of the Year by the North Carolina State Board of Community Colleges. She is the first leader at Rowan-Cabarrus to receive the honor. The award encourages, identifies and rewards outstanding leadership and commitment to the community college mission among the presidents of the 58 institutions of the North Carolina Community College System.

“Dr. Spalding’s leadership has taken Rowan-Cabarrus Community College to new heights of excellence by embracing innovation and fostering strong partnerships,” said Carl Short, the chair of the college’s board of trustees who also nominated her for the award. “She serves our institution, our community and the state of North Carolina with warmth, humility and a passion for student success.”

Cynthia Rice, MiraCosta College’s vice president of institutional advancement, has been honored by the City of Oceanside with its 2019 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Community Service Award. Recipients of the award must be residents of the California city who are active volunteers devoted to community service benefiting local residents and who exemplify the philosophy and ideals of the late civil rights icon.


Archana Bhandari has been appointed executive director of online learning at Hudson County Community College in New Jersey. She comes from Santa Ana College in California where she was director of academic support. Previously, she was director of instructional technology at the University of Maryland School of Social Work.

Christopher Bryant is now vice president of institutional advancement and executive director of the educational foundation at Central Virginia Community College. Previously, he served as director of development for Goodwin House, a nonprofit senior living community in Virginia.

Tonya Daniels has been named dean of humanities at Volunteer State Community College in Tennessee. It is a return for Daniels who was department chair of communication, foreign languages and philosophy, and associate professor of Spanish at Vol State for seven years. She comes most recently from Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College where she was dean of arts and humanities.

Cheryl Gonzalez is the new chief diversity officer at Hillsborough Community College in Florida. Gonzalez worked previously for the University of North Florida as director of equal opportunity and diversity.

About the Author

Matthew Dembicki
is editor of Community College Daily and serves as publications director for the American Association of Community Colleges.