Annette Parker, president of South Central College in Minnesota, has been named by the Young Women’s Christian Association (YWCA) of Mankato as a 2019 Women of Distinction Honoree. The award recognizes women in the greater Mankato community who have lived the goals and mission of the YWCA, which are to eliminate racism, empower women and promote peace, justice, freedom and dignity for all.


Daniel Phelan, president of Jackson College in Michigan, is representing two-year public institutions of higher education as a negotiator on the Accreditation and Innovation Committee, part of the U.S. Department of Education’s negotiated rule making process. Both the American Association of Community Colleges and the Association of Community College Trustees recommended Phelan. As part of the committee, Phelan will provide insight and experience into the process that would ensure the future of accreditation.

Bonnie Ann Dowd, San Diego Community College District’s (SDCCD) executive vice chancellor of business and technology services, has been appointed to a statewide panel tasked with reviewing a new funding formula for California’s 115 community colleges. The 12-member Community College Student Success Funding Formula Oversight Committee will review system-wide data and make recommendations by 2020 on the use of funding measures, such as the number of first-generation students served, a student’s financial needs and a student’s academic proficiency.

Tim Flood is the new vice president of administrative services at the MiraCosta Community College District in California. He previously was vice president of business and financial affairs at Southwestern College since January 2016. Prior to that, Flood was vice president of administrative services at Grossmont College’s El Cajon campus, and also served as its interim superintendent/president.

Joseph Petrosky has been associate vice chancellor of academic affairs at Oakland Community College in Michigan. He comes from Macomb Community College (Michigan), where he had served as dean of engineering and advanced technology April 2008.

Howard Spearman is now vice president of student affairs/chief student services officer at Madison Area Technical College in Wisconsin. He previously was vice president of student affairs/chief student services officer at Rock Valley College in Illinois.

At College of DuPage (COD) in Illinois, Ellen Roberts, Scott Brady and David Virgilio have assumed interim administrative assignments as vice president for administrative affairs, chief finance officer and treasurer, and controller, respectively. Roberts joined the college in 2008 as the staff services manager and became director of business affairs in 2012. Brady has more than 25 years of accounting, finance, governance and compliance experience in higher education, governmental agencies and multiple companies. Virgilio joined COD in 2010 as senior accountant and became budget manager in 2011.

At Harford Community College (HCC) in Maryland, Karen Rege is the inaugural dean of teaching, learning and innovation, and Thomas Alcide joins as its new chief information officer. Alcide comes from Towson University, where he was associate director for systems operations since 2013. Rege had served as HCC’s director for e-learning and instructional resources since 2015, and led the effort to develop the college’s Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning.

At Long Beach City College in California: Sonia De La Torre-Iniguez will become associate dean of student support services; Moises Gutierrez is the new associate dean of health, kinesiology, science and mathematics; Kenna Hillman is now associate dean of academic affairs; and Robert Rapoza is the new director of business support services. Previously, De La Torre-Iniguez was the college’s director of student success since 2016. Gutierrez served as associate math professor at the college. Hillman had previously served as a counselor since 2001. Rapoza was previously the college’s auditor, a post he held for a decade.

About the Author

Matthew Dembicki
is editor of Community College Daily and serves as publications director for the American Association of Community Colleges.