(From left) Wayne Brown, Walter Bumphus, Joe May and Monty Sullivan. (Photo: LCTCS)

CEO kudos

The Louisiana Community and Technical College System Foundation this week presented its Impact Award to all of its presidents since the system was created in 1999. They include Wayne Brown, Walter Bumphus, Joe May and current LCTCS President Monty Sullivan. Brown was the system’s first president. Bumphus, who is president and CEO of the American Association of Community Colleges, served as president from 2001 to 2007, and headed the system during Hurricane Katrina and the recovery effort. May, chancellor of the Dallas County Community College System in Texas, led the system from 2007 to 2014. The LCTCS Impact Awards recognize individuals, organizations, business and industry whose leadership efforts have been notably effective in advancing Louisiana’s education and workforce needs of our students, businesses and communities.

Francisco Rodriguez, chancellor of the Los Angeles Community College District has received the Ohtli Award — or “Reconocimiento Ohtli” — from the government of Mexico, one of the highest civilian honors it bestows, in recognition of his tireless advocacy of higher education to aid, empower or positively change the lives of tens of thousands of Mexican descendants or nationals in the United States.

“As the proud son of immigrant factory workers from Mexico, I accept this award on behalf of my parents, who, like thousands of other immigrant parents, made, and continue to make, tremendous sacrifices for their children to have better lives, ” Rodriguez said.

The award was presented this month to Rodriguez during a private diplomatic event in Los Angeles hosted by Carlos Garcia de Alba, Consul General of Mexico, as part of the 208th anniversary of Mexico’s Independence and “El Grito” Ceremony.


Darrin Hartness will serve as the next president of Davidson County Community College in North Carolina as of January. Hartness has spent his entire career serving in North Carolina, including the past seven years as superintendent of Davie County Schools. He was an integral leader in the development of the new Davie County High School. Prior to his current role, Hartness was superintendent of Mount Airy City Schools and assistant superintendent of curriculum and instruction at Cleveland County Schools. His background also includes time spent as a teacher, principal, chief technology officer and adjunct professor.


Katie Jenner will serve as vice president of K-12 initiatives and statewide partnerships, at Ivy Tech Community College (Indiana), effective November 1. She currently serves as assistant superintendent for the Madison Consolidated Schools in Indiana.

Beth Monteiro is now executive director of the Central Wyoming College Foundation. Previously, Monteiro was vice president of development and alumni relations at Beloit College.

At Volunteer State Community College in Tennessee, Nicholas Bishop is now vice president for economic and community development and Jennifer Brezina is assistant vice president for academic affairs. Bishop came from the Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development where he was director of compliance and policy in the workforce services division. Brezina had served for two and a half years as the dean of humanities at the college.

About the Author

Daily Staff
CCDaily is published by the American Association of Community Colleges.