New CEOs

Keith Aytch has been named president of Evergreen Valley College (EVC) in California. He has served as interim president at EVC since July 2017 and vice president of academic affairs at the college since 2011. Aytch has also held the positions of dean of language arts, dean of library and learning resources, and English literature and composition instructor. He has served EVC since 1993.

Peter Hans will be the ninth president of the North Carolina Community College System. Since 2016, Hans has advised University of North Carolina System President Margaret Spellings on issues such as technology, health care, strategic planning and K-12 education. His experience with higher education includes 18 years of service on North Carolina’s two governing boards for higher education, including the State Board of Community Colleges. In 2014, he was honored by UNC-Wilmington for his role in improving collaboration between the community college and university systems. Hans’ career also includes serving as senior policy adviser to U.S. Sen. Lauch Faircloth and then-U.S. Rep. Richard Burr. He also advised Elizabeth Dole during her successful run for U.S. Senate. Later, Hans and former Lt. Gov. Dennis Wicker built a government relations practice at a series of regional law firms.

Interim CEO

Byron D. Clift Breland will serve as interim chancellor of California’s San José–Evergreen Community College District. He is currently president of San José City College, a post he has held since 2013. He has held numerous instructional and administrative positions in K-12 and higher education.

CEO retirement

Deborah Budd, who has served as chancellor of the San José–Evergreen Community College District since 2015, has announced plans to retire on July 17. She oversaw numerous milestones at the district, including: development of the San José Promise; the passage of a $748 million bond in 2016; the opening of the San José–Evergreen Community College Extension at Milpitas; creation of the district’s Center for Economic Mobility; enhanced dual-enrollment agreements with area high schools; implementation of the Guided Pathways student success framework; and increases in both enrollment and transfer throughout the district.

“It has been a distinct honor and pleasure to serve our students and this wonderful community,” Budd said. “I am enormously proud of the district’s commitment to its values of opportunity, equity and social justice, and I know the work we do transforms the lives of our students and their families will continue to move forward. Through our strong partnerships with business and industry throughout the region, we will continue to serve as the equity engine of the Silicon Valley.”

Previously, Budd was president of Berkeley City College, part of the Peralta Community College District in California. Prior to that, she was the Peralta district’s vice chancellor of educational services. She also has served as vice president of educational resources and instruction at Foothill College and as a dean at Chabot College.


Timothy Stokes, president of South Puget Sound Community College in Washington, will receive the 2018 Chief Executive Officer Award from the Washington State Association of College Trustees. The association called Stokes an inclusive and collaborative leader who consistently demonstrates a high-level of passion and enthusiasm for community colleges and the community college system. It also cited his early adoption of new student programs such as Guided Pathways, his involvement in the Washington Association of Community and Technical Colleges, his attitude of caring toward the college and its students, and his bold advocacy for community colleges.

Kai Wang, senior dean of strategic innovations at Wake Technical Community College in North Caorlina, has received the Staff Person of the Year award from the North Carolina State Board of Community Colleges. Wang also serves as chief campus officer for Wake Tech’s “virtual campus,” Wake Tech Online, which enhances the college’s growing array of online courses and programs.


Doreen Fisher-Bammer is now associate provost of virtual learning at HACC, Central Pennsylvania’s Community College. She previously was director of online learning and instructional technology at Northampton Community College in Pennsylvania.

Cheri Hendrix has become the new director of the Anne Arundel Community College/University of Maryland Baltimore Collaborative Physician Assistant program in Maryland. Hendrix, a 2003 graduate of the program herself, was most recently academic director for the Adventist University of Health Sciences Physician Assistant program in Florida.

Keith Madore has been named executive director of the Tunxis Community College Foundation in Connecticut. Previously, he was director of institutional advancement and community engagement at Asnuntuck Community College.

Moira Maguire is the new dean of social sciences at Holyoke Community College in Massachusetts. She most recently was dean of liberal arts at Schenectady County Community College in New York. Before that, she spent 12 years as a professor of history at the University of Arkansas in Little Rock, where she was a tenured faculty member and served as a department chair and course coordinator.

Bobby Pace has been named dean of academic affairs for concurrent enrollment at the Community College of Aurora in Colorado. He previously served as chair of the social sciences department.

Marjorie Rawhouser is now assistant dean of liberal arts at Anne Arundel Community College in Maryland. She moved into the newly created position from her previous post as associate professor of engineering and lead liaison for the college’s University Consortium with Frostburg State University.

Suzanne Seldes is now director of communications and brand strategy at Indian River State College in Florida. She comes from the Strong Museum in New York, where she was executive vice president and chief marketing officer.

About the Author

Daily Staff
CCDaily is published by the American Association of Community Colleges.