Interim president

Michael Redmond, a professor of philosophy and religion at Bergen Community College in New Jersey and a former administrator, will serve as the college’s interim president. He joined the college in 1981 and has served in various roles, including executive vice president, dean and chief information officer.

CEO retirements

Michel Burke, chancellor of the Riverside Community College District (RCCD) in California, announced that he will retire on December 31. Burke has held the top position at the college since 2014. He previously was president of Milwaukee Area Technical College in Wisconsin. Burke has more than 35 years of teaching and leadership experience in community colleges in Texas, Idaho and California.

Under Burke’s leadership, RCCD’s three colleges experienced an increase in student enrollment, obtained significant grants and increased full-time faculty hiring. He also lead the colleges’ accreditations process, where each of the colleges received reaffirmation and helped usher in celebrations of RCC’s 100th anniversary and Moreno Valley and Norco colleges’ 25th anniversaries.

“I want everyone in the RCCD family to know that I have enjoyed my time here immensely,” he said in a message to faculty and staff. “This is an extraordinary district and leading it has been the highlight of my career.”

Cheryl Thompson-Stacy, president of Lord Fairfax Community College (LFCC) in Virginia, plans to retire February 1, 2018. “Dr. C,” as she is known around campus, has served as the leader of the college since 2009. Thompson-Stacy’s time at LFCC has been marked by numerous successes, including a 13 percent jump in full-time enrollment in the year following her hiring (with significant growth in the following years), a dramatic spike in the number of high school students taking dual-enrollment classes, and a 85 percent increase in the college’s endowment. She also has overseen tremendous growth at all four LFCC locations.

Previously, Thompson-Stacy was president of Eastern Shore Community College, vice president at Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College and business dean at both Cuyahoga Community College in Ohio and at Jefferson Community College in Ohio.


Leah Bornstein, president of Aims Community College in Colorado, has been appointed to the Continuous Quality Improvement Network (CQIN) Executive Committee as a member at large. CQIN is designed to assist community college CEOs with active organizational transformation via out-of-box learning and sharing best practices.

Dale Burgess is now Georgia Piedmont Technical College’s dean of arts and sciences. Previously, he was the college’s evening and weekend administrator and also served for more than two years as an adjunct faculty member.

Rick Paul is now coordinator for Tallahassee Community College’s (Florida) TCC Spark! entrepreneurship initiative. He previously was as an entrepreneurship instructor in the Sheetz Center for Entrepreneurial Excellence at Pennsylvania State University. He has held business education positions at several other institutions, including Florida State University.

Jacqueline Jackson will serve as vice president of student affairs and institutional effectiveness at Harford Community College in Maryland, effective July 31. She comes from Maryland’s Anne Arundel Community College, where she is currently dean of student services.

Tyrone Jackson will be vice president of student services and dean of students for the Raymond Campus of Hinds Community College (Mississippi) as of July 1. He has served as associate vice president/dean of students for the campus since 2013. Jackson also is the Title IX coordinator for the Hinds district.

Victoria Ukachukwu joins Union County College in New Jersey as its dean of the Plainfield Campus and allied health. She brings more than 18 years of experience in higher education, having previously served as assistant vice president for academic affairs/director of health sciences at Caldwell University in New Jersey.

About the Author

Daily Staff
CCDaily is published by the American Association of Community Colleges.