Angelia Millender has been appointed president of Century College (Minnesota), effective July 1. Millender is a senior executive leader with experience serving public and private colleges and universities offering liberal arts and career and technical programs, and is known as a champion of diversity and cultural competence. She has served since 2014 as president of Olive-Harvey College (Illinois). Previously, Millender served Broward College (Florida) as district vice president for student affairs and enrollment management.

Jerry Weber is the new president of Bellevue College in Washington as of July. He is currently president of the College of Lake County in Illinois, where he has lead since 2009. Weber, who is a member of the American Association of Community Colleges board of directors, previously was president of Kankakee Community College for nine years. He has held positions spanning from English faculty to vice president of instruction and student services. Weber also has served as adjunct faculty at Harvard University in the continuing education program of Executive Education for Sustainability Leadership.


Dianne G. Van Hook, chancellor of the College of the Canyons in California, has been named as the National Pacesetter of the Year by the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations. The award recognizes a president or CEO at a two-year community or technical college who has demonstrated leadership and support in the area of college communications and public relations.

Jim Murdaugh, president of Tallahassee Community College in Florida, has been named the Association of College Unions International President of the Year. ACUI is a national organization that brings together college student union and student activities professionals whose mission is to build campus community.

James Jacobs, president of Macomb Community College in Michigan, was recently awarded the Educational Testing Service O’Banion Prize by the League for Innovation in the Community College for his contributions to community college leadership and focus on workforce training.

Eduardo Padrón, president of Miami Dade College in Florida, has been selected to receive the 2017 Trailblazer Award from the Haitian American Nurses Association of Florida. He also has received the 2017 Outstanding Contribution to Higher Education Award from the Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education.

Linda Head, associate vice chancellor of workforce education and corporate partnerships at Lone Star College in Texas, has been named one of “Houston’s 50 Most Influential Women of 2016” by Houston Women Magazine.


Andrea DeFusco-Sullivan has been selected as North Shore Community College’s new dean of liberal studies. Previously, she served as interim dean at the Massachusetts college. DeFusco-Sullivan served for many years as a faculty member at Northern Essex Community College and Middlesex Community College.

Web Grubb has joined Randolph Community College in North Carolina as director of the Small Business Center.

About the Author

Daily Staff
CCDaily is published by the American Association of Community Colleges.